About Us


The office of the Divisional Commissioner situated in Old Secretariat Building, Civil Lines,Nagpur 440 001. This heritage building was built during the period 1910-1916 at a cost of Rs. 10,80,033/- and has got an octagonal built up area of 8122.76 sq. mt. The building is presently hosting 20 different offices of Divisional Level.

Organizational Setup

       The first Divisional Commissioner was enforced in 1956. The Divisional Commissioner is the head of Nagpur Division comprsing of six districts located in the easten partof the vidharbha region of the maharastra state .The commissionerate in addition has a sanctioned staff of one Addl. Commissioner, eight Dy. Commissioner & two Asstt. Commissioner apart from Regular Ministerial staff to look after, monitor different Government schemes in Nagpur Division.

  1. Colloctor, Nagpur       2. Colloctor, Chandrapur     3. Colloctor, Wardha

  4.Colloctor, Bhandara    5. Colloctor, Gadchiroli        6. Colloctor, Gondia

  7.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Nagpur     

  8.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Wardha

  9.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Bhandara

  10.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Gondia

  11.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Chandrapur

  12.Chief Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad,Gandchiroli

  The various administrative functions performed by the different branches of the commissioner office is as follows.


Branches under Divisional Commissionerate, Nagpur


Divisional Commissioner Office Functions



Divisional Commissioner: Chief representative of State Government in the Division, the main functions of Divisional Commissioner are:

(a) He is Head of Revenue Administration and Zilla Parishad, Local Sector Government in the Division.
(b) Ensure proper & effective implementation of the various developmental schemes including poverty allevation, civil supplies, employment generation, drinking water, primary health, primary education and development of infrastructure, etc.
(c) Ensure proper and effective co-ordinaion amongst the various organisations of the Government and publicEnsure proper and effective co-ordinaion amongst the various organisations of the Government and public.
(d) Remove the bottlenecks if any in the smooth implementation of the various development programmes
(e) Ex-officio Chairman of Divisional Sports Committee, Nagpur Flying Club,Vidarbha Relief Committee, President of Cancer Relief Society and President of Indian Institute of Public Administration, Local Branch Nagpur. Overall charge of these Institutions ensuring that they function strictly in accordance with their rule & bye laws and progress well.
(f) Disposal of Appeals related to Establishment matters of Revenue Department, Zilla Parishad, Village Panchayat Act,Slum Act, Entertaintment Duty Act, etc.
(g) Supervise, guide and control the various offices in the division especially that of Collectors, Chief Executive Officers of Zilla Parishads, Superintendents of Police and Municipal Councils

Additional Commissioner: This is the immediate next authority to the Divisional Commissioner and looks after the Municiapal Administration in the capacity as the Regional Director of Municiapl Administration. The Revenue appeals and appeal from the Local Secto the Gram Panchayat, Zilla Parishad and Nagar Palika are entertained and administered by the Additional Commissioner.

Dy. Commissioner (Revenue) : This section looks after establishment affairs of Collectors, Addl. Collectors, Dy. Collectors, Tahsildars & Naib Tahsildars in addition looks after subjects of Relief & Rehabilitation of Natural Calamities Divisional Vigilinace Cell to look after the Corruption Charges. Recovery of Government Dues & outstanding debts.

Dy. Commissioner (General Admin) : An officer of the rank of Deputy Commissioner heads this branch. It is responsible for all administrative matters in the Div. Commissioner's office and any other matter that may not be specifically coming under the purview of any other branch /section. It looks after the establishment affairs of the ministrial staff attached to the commissionerate and is the key link between the Government Treasury and Administrative Expenses in addition,this wing also look after the following important function such as, Protocol & Visit of VVIPs.Sanction of Parole to the prisoners detenue at Central Jail, Nagpur. Appeal against the Judgement of District Magistrate under Arms & Ammunation Act /Police Patil Act.Activities of Flying Club which is located at Nagpur. Special assistance under the Government of India's & Government of Maharashtra's Scheme for the age old persons and destitutes families, Divisional Lokshahi Din and municipal administration in the division.

Dy. Commissioner (Food & Civil Supply) : This wing of the commissionerate looks after the supply and distribution of all essential commodities in the entire region in addition it also looks after government schemes for the poorer sections of the communities like Nav Sanjivan Yojana, Antyodaya Yojna, Annapurna & Shaleya Poshan Aahar. The appeal against the judgements of the district supply officer & collector are also entertain in this section.

Dy. Commissioner (Development) : This wing of the commissionerate looks after the administrative affairs & day to day functioning of Zilla Parishads established in the various districts in the Division. It also entertain the appeals against the judgements of Chief Executive Officers. This wing also looks after the implementation of the Government all development schemes especially in the areas of water conservation, education , agriculture & health.

Dy. Commissioner ( E.G.S.) : This wing of the commissionerate looks after the implementation of Employment Guarntee Scheme through various collectos in the districts for the benefits of the rural unemployed labours. It also monitor the administrative and financial control over the all schemes in vises under this head.

Dy. Commissioner ( Entertainment) : This wing of the commissionerate looks after the revenue collection through the entertainments avenues and basically mean to monitor & administer the various collection means of the Government revenue receipts through the entertainment medias includes cables, cinemas, dramas and amusement parks.

Dy. Commissioner ( Resettlement) : This wing of the commissionerate looks after the resettlement schemes in vogue in various districts of the division. It also looks after resettlement issues pertaining to the rehabilitation of the project affected peoples and also look after the acquisition of land under the various projects notified under the resettlement act.

Dy. Commissioner, Development (Establishment) : This wing of the Commissionerate looks after the administrative functions of the employees recruited under the Zilla Parishad & Panchayat Samiti Act and also the day to day administrative activities of the establishment affairs of the Zilla Parishad in the various districts of the Division.

Asstt. Commissioner (B.C.Cell) : This wing of the Commissionerate looks after the recruitment drive of the Backwards & Specual Classes in the various government/semi government offices and local sector bodies & corporations of the division. It also meticulously monitor the recruitment norms and backlog of each segments Cader Wise in the various offices.

Asstt Commissioner (Land Reforms) : This wing of the Commissionerate looks after the matter of the Maharastra Agricultural Land Act,Tenancy Act and Maharashtra Restoration of Land to Schedule tribe Act.


Designed & Developed By National Informatics CentreNagpur